Driver CPC Training

If you’re looking to take the next step in your career by undertaking driver CPC training, simply give Wayside Transport a call today to find out how we can help. In recent years, Driver CPC certification became a standard part of driving where the vehicle being operated is a bus, lorry or coach. Established by the EU, the Driver CPC certification is a set of standards designed to ensure proficiency and competency among all professional drivers.

With a few exceptions, any driver that currently holds a Category C or Category D licence must undergo driver CPC training. At Wayside Transport, we recommend that even if you feel that you’re exempt, you should still consider undertaking this training to ensure that you’re up-to-speed with current legal requirements.

Will I Require CPC Training?

If you’re planning on driving lorries, buses and coaches, then the short answer is yes – you will need Driver CPC Training. There are exceptions, for instance, if you’re operating vehicles as part of the armed forces, police, fire brigade or a civil defence organisation then you may not necessarily require this training.
Other exceptions can include but are not limited to individuals operating a vehicle for the non-commercial carriage of passengers or goods. Or, transporting materials or equipment which is deemed essential for your work where this would usually not fall under your job description.

There are other exceptions which may apply, and if you’re unsure as to whether any of these apply to you, we’ll be happy to advise you.

You will require Driver CPC Training, however, if you’re planning to operate any of the following:

• Articulated Lorries
• Bin Lorries
• Buses
• Coaches
• Heavy Construction Equipment
• Tipper Trucks

Even operators of HGVs and PCVs require Driver CPC Training as the practical differences are relatively minor.

Get in touch with our friendly team today for further details

Periodic Training

Wayside Transport will be hosting weeks of CPC training at our premises. The training will be for LGV/ PCV drivers and will take place at our purpose-built facility in Ferndown, Dorset. In short, all drivers who have completed their Driver CPC Training will be issued with a CPC card. This card must be renewed once every five years.
To renew your card for another five years, periodic training must be undertaken, and this usually consists of around 35 hours of classroom-based study. If you’re an experienced and qualified LGV/ PCV driver wishing to work in either haulage or passenger markets, you will need to complete or keep yourself up to date with your CPC training.

We can assist you with the training for this with an understanding approach. All our trainers are focused on your needs and requirements and are fully approved and endorsed to provide training which is considered to be the best that
the industry has to offer. We are centrally located in Dorset with easy access from Southampton, Hampshire and Wiltshire via the A31.

Dates

April 2019

Saturday 13th April – Drivers Hours.  Only 4 space’s Available. Location Ferndown.

Saturday 13th April – Operators Law. Only 5 Spaces Available. Location Wool.

Monday 15th April – Vulnerable Road Users.         Full

Tuesday 16th April – Drivers Hours.   Full

Wednesday 17th April – Drive Safe Stay Legal.  Now Full

Thursday 18th April – Emergency First Aid. Only 4 Spaces Available.

Saturday 27th April – Drive Safe Stay Legal. Only 3 Spaces Available.

Monday 29th April to Friday 3rd May – ADR, Packages and Tanks plus 7 classes. Spaces Available

Tuesday 30th April — Drivers Hours. New Date on Calendar Spaces Available 

May 2019

Saturday 4th May – Vulnerable Road Users. Spaces Available

Saturday 11th May – Emergency First Aid. Now Full

Saturday 18th May – Emergency First Aid.  Now Full

Monday 20th May – Drivers Hours.  Now Full

Tuesday 21st May – Drive Safe Stay Legal.  Spaces Available

Wednesday 22nd May – Vulnerable Road Users.  Spaces Available

Thursday 23rd May – Operators Law.  Now Full

Friday 24th May – Emergency First Aid. Only 6 Spaces Available

Saturday 25th May – Vulnerable Road Users.  Spaces Available

Tuesday 28th May – Drivers Hours.  Only 2 Spaces Available 

Wednesday 29th May – Drive Safe Stay Legal. Spaces Available

Thursday 30th May – Operators Law. Only 6 Spaces Available

Friday 31st May – Emergency First Aid. Spaces Available

June 2019

Saturday 1st June – Environmental Safety. Location Winfrith. Now Full

Saturday 1st June – Vulnerable Road Users. Location Ferndown. Now Full

Saturday 8th June – Environmental Safety.  Only 1 Space Available

Mon 10th – 14th June – ADR, Packages, Tanks and Classes 2,3,4,5,6,8 and 9.

Saturday 15th June – Emergency First Aid.  Spaces Available

Saturday 22nd June – Vulnerable Road Users.Now Full

Monday 24th June – Drivers Hours. Spaces Available

Tuesday 25th June – Drive Safe Stay Legal. Spaces Available

Wednesday 26th June – Vulnerable Road Users. Spaces Available

Thursday 27th June –  Environmental Safety. Spaces Available

Friday 28th June – Emergency First Aid. Spaces Available

Saturday 29th June – Operators Law.  ONLY 5 Spaces Available

July 2019

Saturday 6th July – Operators Law. Now Full

Saturday 13th July – Drive Safe Stay Legal. Now Full

Monday 22nd July – Drivers Hours. Spaces Available

Tuesday 23rd July – Drive Safe Stay Legal. Spaces Available

Wednesday 24th July – Vulnerable Road Users. Spaces Available

Thursday 25th July – Operators Law. Spaces Available

Friday 26th July – Emergency First Aid. Spaces Available

Saturday 27th July – Environmental Safety. Spaces Available

Monday 29th July – Drivers Hours.Spaces Available

Tuesday  30th July – Drive Safe Stay Legal. Spaces Available

Wednesday 31st July – Vulnerable Road Users. Spaces Available

August 2019

Thursday  1st August– Emergency First Aid. Spaces Available

Friday 2nd August – Environmental Safety. Spaces Available

Monday 19th August – Drivers Hours. Spaces Available

Tuesday 20th August – Drive Safe Stay Legal. Spaces Available

Wednesday 21st August – Vulnerable Road Users. Spaces Available

Thursday 22nd August – Environmental Safety. Spaces Available 

Friday 23rd August – Emergency First Aid. Spaces Available

If you don’t see the date you are looking for just give us a call. We can also help with additional booking information and bookings.

Wayside Transport Wimborne

CPC Initial Training



All drivers seeking to obtain their first Category C or D licence must undertake training which includes Driver CPC training. A ‘Certificate of Professional Competence’ combines with theory test preparation and practical instruction to form the backbone of what will be the Initial CPC Qualification. Unless we partake in Driver CPC training, you won’t be able to legally operate commercial vehicles.

Here at Wayside Transport, we have you covered with a range of courses starting in November 2018 and running right through to August 2019. Spaces are limited, so we recommend that you get in touch with our team today to book your place in order to avoid disappointment. If you have any questions or require more information about our Driver CPC Training, give Wayside Transport a call today on 01202 873 911.

We are proud to work with the following partners:

Register your interest

I have read and accept the Privacy Policy and consent to Wayside Transport contacting me about my enquiry.

I consent to Wayside Transport contacting me with future updates. 

A member of our team will be in touch to confirm your booking
(Subject to availability)


Our services include

One-to-one instruction

ADR Dangerous Goods

LGV / HGV training

PCV  Bus / Minibus training

Car and trailer training

NRI Instructor Qualification training

LGV driving assessor course

Guidance on D4 medicals

Support in gaining your C/C+E/C1 LGV licence or D/D1 PCV licence

Periodic CPC

Ambulance Training

Caravan and Towing Assistance